A historical walk will take place on Saturday October 22 (from 3 -5 PM) as part of the ongoing celebration of the 150th Anniversary of Grace Church.
The “Founders Tour” walk will begin at West Cemetery in Amherst, the burial site of some 22 founders, officers, incorporators, and vestry members who were involved with the church’s organization and construction from 1864-1866. Grace Church’s unofficial historian Ken Samonds will note interesting biographical details for several of the founders, and graves will be decorated with flowers.
The walking tour will then continue to four other historic locations: the Strong House; the home of Mary Hubbard Field (French) Jones; the site of the Amherst Academy; and the Old Baptist Church on the Common... with a brief explanation of their historical significance to Grace Church. The walk will conclude with a reception at Grace Church.
The event is open to the entire Amherst community, with a special invitation to history buffs. Many people are familiar with this stone church on the Common, but few know the fascinating story of how, and why, it came to be there.